CQA Governing Structure

Centre for Quality Assurance (CQA) is established in accordance with the UGC Circular No.9 of 2019. The policy decisions and monitoring of the progress of QA actions come under the preview of the Senate Standing Committee on Quality Assurance (SCQA). CQA is responsible for development and implementation of QA programmes across the University under the direction of the SCQA.

The CQA has been established by amending By Law No. 14 of the Internal Quality Assurance Unit on 1 January 2020.

Composition of the Senate Standing Committee:

  • Vice Chancellor (Chairperson)
  • Deputy Vice Chancellor
  • Director, CQA
  • Deans of all Faculties of the OUSL.
  • Director/Centre for Educational Technology and Media (CETMe).
  • Director/ Regional Educational Services (RES)
  • Representatives of the Faculty Quality Assurance cells
  • Representative of the Quality Assurance cell of the Administrative Divisions.
  • Representative / Academic division, CETMe
  • Registrar (or his/her nominee)
  • Bursar (or his/her nominee)
  • Librarian (or his/her nominee)
  • Director – Staff Development Centre
  • Director/Public Information
  • Director/Student Welfare

The Assistant Registrar CQA shall be the Convener and Secretary of the QS Standing Committee.

Responsibilities of the Director CQA

The Director should be appointed for a period of three years, with the concurrence of the UGC. He/she will be eligible for reappointment for not more than one more term of three years,

Develop regulations for the CQA and obtain approval from the University Council for the same.

Prepare operational guidelines for the CQA in accordance with the general guidelines developed by QAC of the UGC, and customized for the university’s governance structure/ organogram and specific implementation arrangement.

Develop a 3-year Strategic Plan for the CQA; Obtain approval from the University Senate and Council and concurrence of the QAC of the UGC, before the implementation.

Develop the annual work plan for the CQA and obtain approval from the University Senate and Council at the Commencement of each calendar year.

Develop the annual budget for QA activities in the university along with the university’s annual budget estimates submitted to the Treasury, and obtain Finance Committee and Council approval.

Ensure that the CQA is established on the university website and details are updated regularly.

Report regularly on QA activities and progress to the University Senate and Council.

Circulate notices of QA activities in the university to the university community and other universities.

Conduct University and Faculty level awareness programs on QA.

Initiate and support the preparation of SER for Institutional Reviews.

Motivate and support study programs to prepare SERs for program reviews.

Provide necessary training and workshops for Self-Assessment Report (SER) preparation.

Motivate and support academic staff to showcase best practices in QA.

Develop relationships and liaise with international agencies and universities on QA activities.

Support academic staff in the process of preparing proposals for the conduct of new degree programs, and ensure that applications submitted to the UGC for approval in this regard are compliant with the Sri Lanka Qualifications Framework.

Report on university QA activities at the UGC Standing Committee on QA.

Submit an annual report of the CQA to the QAC of the UGC.

Convene and facilitate all meetings of the CQA and FQACs.

Assist manual preparation on QA aspects in Faculties.
Make available to all staff and external stakeholders the results of external and internal reviews, including student surveys.

The Open University of Sri Lanka
Apply Online