Health Sciences QA Cell

About the Quality Assurance Cell

The Quality Assurance (QA) Cell of the Faculty of Health Sciences, formulated as an integral component of the institutional QA system, seeks to strengthen the academic and administrative performance of the Faculty and promote measures for quality enhancement through internalisation of a quality culture. The Faculty QA cell is guided by the QA framework of the University and the Internal Quality Assurance Unit (IQAU) of the OUSL.

The Faculty QA Cell consists of members from the Departments of Nursing, Medical Laboratory Sciences, Pharmacy, Basic Sciences, and the Psychology & Counselling of the Faculty of Health Sciences. It is headed by the Faculty Coordinator who represents the Faculty of Health Sciences at the Board of the IQAU.

  • Coordination of all QA related activities in the Faculty
  • Monitor progress of QA activities initiated by the Cell/Departments.
  • Share good practices across Departments
  • Obtain feedback from students/internal and external staff and other stakeholders on services / products, including the facilitation of student feedback surveys on day schools, peers, courses, online courses, laboratory sessions.
  • Provide analyzed results on feedback surveys to the Departments to facilitate incorporation of relevant findings to improve the performance.
  • Develop Faculty specific QA tools, guidelines and manuals
  • Conduct QA related awareness programmes among staff members.
  • Develop relationships and liaise with other QA cells of the University to share best practices
  • Collaborate with national and international agencies and universities on QA activities in consultation with the IQAU.
  • Prepare an annual work plan and obtain approval from the Board of Management of the IQAU, before the commencement of a calendar year
  • Report regularly on the QA activities at the Faculty Board meetings and at the IQAU meetings
  • Facilitate the implementation of QA reviews / monitoring follow-up action in the Departments


QA Cell, Faculty of Health Sciences
Members contact details

Chairperson QA Cell
/Faculty Coordinator, IQAU
 Dr. H. M. C. J. Herath


Senior Lecturer
Department of Psychology & Counselling
Telephone: 0112881000
/Department of Pharmacy
Ms. K.A.I.Priyangika


Lecturer  (Probationary)
Department of Pharmacy
Ext: 720
/Department of Nursing
Ms. H.U.C. Nuwansala Lecturer (Probationary)
Department of Nursing
Ext: 325
/Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences
Ms. Gayathri Rathnayake


Lecturer (Probationary)
Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences
Telephone: 0112881146
Ext: 646
/Basic Sciences
Ms. Dinithi De Silva Lecturer (Probationary) Department of  Basic Sciences


Telephone: 0112853777
Ms. Pabasari Amarasinghe Research Assistant QA Cell Email:
Telephone: 0112881355


Apply Online