Faculty of

The Faculty of Natural Sciences has over 35 years of experience in delivering science degree programmes adopting the Open and Distance Learning (ODL) methodologies. The Faculty functions under the leadership of the Dean, who is the administrative and the academic head. It consists of six Departments: Botany, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Zoology. In keeping with the mission and objectives of the Faculty, it currently offers 29 programmes of study ranging from Certificate to Postgraduate level, as well as stand-alone courses and short courses. The main undergraduate programmes offered by the Faculty are BSc degree programme and BSc (Hons) degree programmes with nearly 5,000 students.

The programmes of study offered by the Faculty of Natural Sciences are designed to develop competency in the area of specialisation, the soft skills and the technology needed for the 21st Century world of work. Further, learners are given several opportunities to enhance their career paths and continuously instil a passion for lifelong learning.

The mission of the Faculty of Natural Sciences:

To be innovative in teaching-learning and research demonstrating leadership in Open Distance Learning (ODL) in science with a commitment to achieve national goals.

Objectives of the Faculty of Natural Sciences:

  • To develop motivated personnel successful in their academic, career & lifelong learning goals
  • To offer quality programmes informed by current needs and demands
  • To support the community and the nation through partnerships and public service
  • To promote research, scholarship and enterprise activities
  • To increase the outreach of the sciences via open access via distance education.